Ministère de la Famille
Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Administration of Medications

You have standards to respect, particularly concerning the administration, labelling and storage of medications.

No medication may be given to a child without the written authorization of the parent and a health care professional authorized by law to prescribe the medication. In the case of prescription medication, the information recorded by the pharmacist on the label is proof of the professional's authorization.

Exceptions

  • Acetaminophen (Tempra, Atasol, Tylenol or other house brand names) may be administered and insect repellent may be applied to a child without medical authorization, provided they are done in accordance with the protocol in force.
  • Medical authorization is not required to administer saline nasal drops and oral hydration solutions (Pedialyte, Gastrolyte, Lytren, etc.) or to apply diaper rash cream, sunscreen cream, lubricant jelly in a single-dose pack for taking temperature, moisturizing cream, lip balm and calamine lotion to a child. However, the parent's written authorization is mandatory.

The home childcare provider may offer the parent to provide the child with acetaminophen and insect repellent if the parent signs the protocol provided to this effect. Always with the parent's written consent, the provider may supply the following products:

  • acetaminophen;
  • oral hydration solution;
  • calamine lotion;
  • diaper rash cream;
  • lubricant jelly in single-dose packs; and
  • sunscreen cream.

However, saline nasal drops, moisturizing cream and lip balm may not be supplied by the home childcare provider.

The label on the medication container must state the child's name, the name of the medication, the expiry date, the dose and the duration of the treatment.

Child's medication administration sheet

The person who administers a medication must record the information on the child's medication administration sheet, except for sunscreen cream, saline nasal drops, lubricant jelly, moisturizing cream, lip balm and diaper rash cream.

The medication administration sheet must contain the following information:

  • the name of the child;
  • the name of the parent;
  • the name of the medication for which the parent authorizes administration;
  • the date and hour of administration;
  • the dose administered;
  • the name and signature of the person who administered the medication.

Storage of medications

Medications must be clearly labelled and stored in a storage space out of the reach of children and away from food, toxic products and cleaning products. The permit holder must keep the storage space locked.

The following products do not have to be stored under lock and key:

  • oral hydration solutions also need not be stored away from food;
  • saline nasal solutions;
  • diaper rash creams;
  • moisturizing creams;
  • lip balms;
  • sunscreen creams.

Epinephrine auto-injectors need not be stored under lock and key and must be accessible to any person likely to administer it.

Top of page

Last modified date :
October 4, 2018

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Administration de médicaments

Vous avez des normes à respecter, notamment en ce qui concerne l’administration, l’étiquetage et l’entreposage de médicaments.

Aucun médicament ne peut être donné à un enfant sans l’autorisation écrite du parent et d’un professionnel de la santé habilité par la loi à le prescrire. Dans le cas d’un médicament prescrit, les renseignements inscrits par le pharmacien sur l’étiquette font foi de l’autorisation de ce professionnel.

Exceptions

  • De l’acétaminophène (type Tempra, Atasol, Tylenol ou autres marques maison) peut être administré et de l’insectifuge peut être appliqué à un enfant sans autorisation médicale, pourvu qu’ils le soient conformément au protocole en vigueur.
  • L’autorisation médicale n’est pas requise pour administrer des solutions nasales salines et des solutions orales d’hydratation (type Pedialyte, Gastrolyte, Lytren, etc.) ou pour appliquer de la crème pour érythème fessier, de la crème solaire, du gel lubrifiant en format à usage unique pour la prise de température, de la crème hydratante, du baume à lèvres et de la lotion calamine à un enfant. Par contre, l’autorisation écrite du parent est obligatoire.

Le prestataire de service de garde peut offrir à un parent de fournir à son enfant l’acétaminophène et de l’insectifuge si le parent signe le protocole prévu à cet effet. Toujours avec le consentement écrit du parent, le prestataire peut fournir les produits suivants :

  • l’acétaminophène;
  • la solution orale d’hydratation;
  • la lotion calamine;
  • la crème pour érythème fessier;
  • le gel lubrifiant en format unique; et
  • la crème solaire.

Toutefois, la solution nasale saline, la crème hydratante et le baume à lèvres ne peuvent être fournis par le prestataire de service de garde.

L’étiquette du contenant d’un médicament doit indiquer le nom de l’enfant, le nom du médicament, sa date d’expiration, sa posologie et la durée du traitement.

Fiche des médicaments de l’enfant

La personne qui administre un médicament doit consigner l’information dans la fiche des médicaments de l’enfant à l’exception de la crème solaire, de la solution nasale saline, du gel lubrifiant, de la crème hydratante, du baume à lèvre et de la crème pour érythème fessier.

La fiche des médicaments doit faire état des éléments suivants :

  • le nom de l’enfant;
  • le nom du parent;
  • le nom du médicament dont le parent autorise l’administration;
  • la date et l’heure de l’administration;
  • la quantité administrée;
  • le nom et la signature de la personne qui l’a administré.

Entreposage des médicaments

Les médicaments doivent être clairement étiquetés et entreposés dans un espace de rangement hors de la portée des enfants, à l’écart des denrées alimentaires, des produits toxiques et des produits d’entretien. Le titulaire de permis doit tenir cet espace de rangement sous clé.

Les produits suivants n’ont pas à être entreposés sous clé :

  • les solutions orales d’hydratation n’ont pas aussi à être conservées à l’écart des denrées alimentaires;
  • les solutions nasales salines;
  • les crèmes pour érythème fessier;
  • les crèmes hydratantes;
  • les baumes à lèvres;
  • les crèmes solaires.

Quant à l’auto-injecteur d’épinéphrine, non seulement il ne doit pas être entreposé sous clé mais il doit être accessible à toute personne susceptible de l’administrer.


Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
14 mai 2015