Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Have I bullied someone?

Need Help?

A variety of words or actions, including insulting, pushing, slandering, or threatening, by one or more people, may cause someone to feel harassed or bullied. Behaviour that seems insignificant to you may feel like bullying to someone else.

What you should know about bullying:

  • People who commit acts of bullying are trying to exert power over someone else or to take advantage of their superiority (physically or based on age or on their social status in a group, etc.) to hurt or humiliate the other (unequal power relationship).
  • They act with the intention of hurting or harming the other.
  • Their acts have adverse consequences for the person targeted. The person on the receiving end of bullying may feel anxiety, develop low self-esteem, or suffer serious psychological distress.
  • In most cases, it is the repetition of actions and words that causes distress to the person targeted. Some serious acts could also be considered acts of bullying without being repetitive in nature.

Whatever your motivation, you are responsible for your behaviour.

Many acts are defined by laws, and some are even considered crimes under the Criminal Code of Canada, such as death threats, threats to cause bodily harm, or the use of violence.

 

Useful links

  

Elder Abuse

Older people may be abused in any living environment. Unfortunately, the abuse is often shrouded in silence or not really recognized or reported. It may take many forms: physical, psychological, sexual, material or financial, organizational, ageism, violation of rights, etc.

Find out more

Do you believe that you or a senior you know are in a situation of abuse? Wait no longer. Call “Aide Abus Aînés” now. This is a free telephone help and referral line that is anonymous, confidential, and available everywhere in the province of Québec from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Hotline “Aide Abus Aînés”: 1-888-489-ABUS (2287)

Top of page

Last modified date :
June 28, 2021

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils
Vous tes la section Est-ce que j'intimide?

Est-ce que j’intimide?

Des ressources pour vous aider

Une multitude de gestes ou de paroles, d’une ou de plusieurs personnes, peuvent amener quelqu’un à se sentir harcelé ou victime d’intimidation, comme des insultes, des bousculades, de la médisance ou des menaces. Des comportements qui vous paraissent anodins peuvent finir par intimider l’autre.

Ce qu’il faut savoir à propos de l’intimidation :

  • la personne qui commet des gestes d’intimidation cherche à gagner du pouvoir sur l’autre ou profite de sa supériorité (physique ou fondée sur l’âge ou sur le statut social dans le groupe, etc.) pour la blesser ou l’humilier (rapports de force);
  • elle agit dans l’intention de nuire ou de faire du mal à l’autre;
  • ses gestes ont des conséquences néfastes pour la personne qui les subit. La personne victime d’intimidation peut éprouver de l’anxiété, en venir à éprouver une faible estime de soi ou vivre une importante détresse psychologique;
  • dans la plupart des cas, c’est la répétition des gestes et des paroles qui crée la détresse de la personne ciblée. Certains gestes graves peuvent aussi être considérés comme des actes d’intimidation sans avoir un caractère répétitif.

Quelles que soient vos motivations, vous êtes responsable de votre comportement.

Plusieurs gestes sont encadrés par des lois et certains constituent même des crimes prévus par le Code criminel canadien comme menacer l’autre de mort ou de blessures ou user de violence.

 

Liens utiles

 

Maltraitance envers les personnes aînées

La maltraitance envers les personnes aînées peut exister dans tous les milieux de vie. Malheureusement, elle est souvent gardée sous silence, peu reconnue ou peu dénoncée. Elle peut prendre plusieurs formes : physique, psychologique, sexuelle, matérielle ou financière, organisationnelle, violation des droits de la personne, etc.

Vous croyez être en situation de maltraitance ou craignez qu’une personne aînée de votre entourage le soit? N’hésitez pas, téléphonez à la ligne Aide, Abus, Aînés (1 888 489-2287) qui offre un service d’écoute et de référence anonyme et confidentiel, sans frais et accessible partout au Québec, tous les jours de 8 h à 20 h.

 

 

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
8 décembre 2015