Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Safety of outdoor play areas

Childcare centres (CPE) and daycare centres must have an outdoor play space (or have access to a public park) within 500 metres, because children need to be physically active in a safe environment. The layout of the outdoor play space must also facilitate the role of the childcare staff.

When childcare centres (CPE) and daycare centres set up a play area and equipment in their outdoor space, they have the following obligations.

  • comply with the CSA-Z614 standard, which allows prevention of accidents and injuries in these spaces;
  • maintain the equipment;
  • keep the registers provided for to this effect;
  • record everything in their annual report.

Each childcare centre (CPE) and daycare centre equipped with an outdoor play area must provide the Ministère de la Famille with a certificate of compliance with CSA-Z614, issued by a professional qualified to conduct the required inspections, certifying that the play area and its equipment comply with this standard. The certificate is valid for a three-year period.

On the occasion of their regular visits, the Ministère de la Famille inspectors pay special attention to safety in the outdoor space and the play area.

For home childcare services, the home childcare provider is responsible for ensuring that any climbing apparatus, swing, slide or similar outdoor equipment has smooth surfaces with no sharp edges, is safe and is installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.

Top of page

Last modified date :
March 27, 2017

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Sécurité des aires extérieures de jeu

Les centres de la petite enfance et les garderies doivent avoir un espace extérieur de jeu (ou avoir accès à un parc public) à moins de 500 mètres, car les enfants ont besoin d’être physiquement actifs dans un environnement sécuritaire. L’aménagement de l’espace extérieur doit aussi faciliter le rôle du personnel du service de garde.

Lorsque les centres de la petite enfance et les garderies aménagent une aire et de l’équipement de jeu dans leur espace extérieur, ils ont les obligations suivantes :

  • respecter la norme CSA-Z614, une norme dont l’application permet de prévenir les accidents et les blessures dans ces lieux;
  • effectuer l’entretien des équipements;
  • tenir à jour les registres prévus à cet effet;
  • consigner le tout dans leur rapport annuel.

Chaque centre de la petite enfance et chaque garderie muni d’une aire extérieure de jeu doit fournir au Ministère un certificat de conformité à la norme CSA-Z614, délivré par un professionnel habilité à procéder aux vérifications requises, attestant que l’aire de jeu et ses équipements respectent cette norme. Le certificat est valide pour une période de trois ans.

À l’occasion de leurs visites habituelles, les inspecteurs du Ministère prêtent une attention particulière à la sécurité dans l’espace extérieur et à l'aire de jeu.

En ce qui concerne les services de garde en milieu familial, la personne responsable d’un tel service a la responsabilité de s’assurer que toute structure d’escalade, balançoire, glissoire ou tout autre équipement extérieur a des surfaces lisses et non tranchantes, est sécuritaire et est installé selon les instructions du fabricant.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
1er avril 2014