Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Administration of medications

Childcare services must respect standards, particularly concerning the administration, labelling and storage of medications.

No medication may be given to a child without the written authorization of the parent and a health care professionals authorized by law to prescribe it. In the case of prescription medication, the information recorded by the pharmacist on the label is proof of the professional's authorization.

Exceptions

  • Acetaminophen (Tempra, Atasol, Tylenol or other house brand names) may be administered and insect repellent may be applied to a child without medical authorization, provided they are done in accordance with the protocol in force.
  • Medical authorization is not required to administer saline nasal drops and oral hydration solutions (Pedialyte, Gastrolyte, Lytren, etc.) or to apply diaper rash cream, sunscreen cream, lubricant jelly in a single-dose pack for taking temperature, moisturizing cream, lip balm and calamine lotion to a child. However, the parent's written authorization is mandatory.

The childcare provider may offer parents to provide their child with acetaminophen, insect repellent, oral hydration solutions calamine lotion, diaper rash cream, lubricant jelly in a single-dose pack and sunscreen cream. However, saline nasal drops, moisturizing cream and lip balm may not be supplied by the home childcare provider.

Monitoring

The person who administers a medication, except for sunscreen cream, saline nasal drops, lubricant jelly, moisturizing cream and diaper rash cream, must record the information on the child's medication administration sheet.

The medication administration sheet states:

  • the name of the child;
  • the name of the parent;
  • the name of the medication for which the parent authorizes administration;
  • the date and hour of administration;
  • the dose administered;
  • the name and signature of the person who administered the medication.

Top of page

Last modified date :
March 27, 2017

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Administration de médicaments

Les services de garde doivent respecter les normes, notamment en ce qui concerne l'administration, l'étiquetage et l'entreposage de médicaments.

Aucun médicament ne peut être donné à un enfant sans l'autorisation écrite du parent et d'un professionnel de la santé habilité par la loi à le prescrire. Dans le cas d'un médicament prescrit, les renseignements inscrits par le pharmacien sur l'étiquette font foi de l'autorisation de ce professionnel.


Exceptions

  • De l'acétaminophène (type Tempra, Atasol, Tylenol ou autres marques maison) peut être administré et de l'insectifuge être appliqué à un enfant sans autorisation médicale, pourvu qu'ils le soient conformément au protocole en vigueur.
  • L'autorisation médicale n'est pas requise pour administrer des solutions nasales salines et des solutions orales d'hydratation (type Pedialyte, Gastrolyte, Lytren, etc.) ou pour appliquer de la crème pour érythème fessier, de la crème solaire, du gel lubrifiant en format à usage unique pour la prise de température, de la crème hydratante, du baume à lèvres et de la lotion calamine à un enfant. Par contre, l'autorisation écrite du parent est obligatoire.


Le prestataire de services de garde peut offrir a un parent de fournir à son enfant, l’acétaminophène, l’insectifuge, la solution orale d’hydratation, la lotion calamine, la crème pour érythème fessier, le gel lubrifiant en format unique et la crème solaire. Toutefois, la solution nasale saline, la crème hydratante et le baume à lèvres ne peuvent être fournis par le prestataire de service de garde.

Suivi

La personne qui administre un médicament, à l'exception de la crème solaire, de la solution nasale saline, du gel lubrifiant, de la crème hydratante, du baume à lèvre et de la crème pour érythème fessier, doit consigner l'information à la fiche des médicaments de l’enfant.

La fiche des médicaments fait état :

  • du nom de l'enfant;
  • du nom du parent;
  • du nom du médicament dont le parent autorise l’administration;
  • de la date et de l'heure de l'administration;
  • de la quantité administrée;
  • du nom et la signature de la personne qui l’a administré.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
8 avril 2014