Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Objectives and principles

The educational program promotes:

  • the educational quality of the childcare services offered;
  • consistency in the educational approaches adopted in the various educational childcare establishments;
  • continuity in the educational interventions carried out with young children and their families.

Basic principles of the educational program

  • A partnership between the educational childcare establishment and the parents is essential to the children’s harmonious development.. The process of accompanying young children in their overall development is a joint project shared by parents, the educational staff, the home childcare provider (HCP), and, when applicable, the administrators or any other person working in the childcare establishment. Based on a relationship of mutual trust, this partnership reassures the children and helps establish a meaningful relationship between them and the adults who take care of them during their parents’ absence. It also promotes the choice of individualized interventions adapted to each child within the same group at the childcare establishment.
  • Children learn through play. It is through play that children learn and develop. By helping them derive full benefit from the play they initiate, the educational staff and HCPs support their overall development.
  • Children are the main actors in their development. Young children are most likely to achieve their full potential when they are the main actors in their development, and when they are able to initiate play themselves, make suggestions that are implemented in the childcare establishment and participate in decisions.
  • Each child is unique. An in-depth knowledge of each child and his or her development helps the adult in charge of that child to recognize and respect his or her particular nature, rate of development, areas of interest and needs.
  • A child’s development is a comprehensive, integrated process. A child’s development is a comprehensive process involving all areas of development at the same time (physical and motor, social and emotional, cognitive). All these areas interact and are integrated into a whole: the child.

Areas of a child’s development

  • Physical and motor — Health and safety, physiological needs (nutrition, sleep, hygiene), sensory development, perception of their own bodies, gross and fine motor skills.
  • Cognitive — Attention, memory, symbolic function, the capacity to categorize and conceptualize, reasoning, mathematics and science awareness.
  • Language — Prelinguistic language, oral language, reading and writing awareness, as well as graphic development.
  • Social and emotional — Attachment (establishing meaningful affective relationships), temperament, self-concept, identity, emotional and social skills.

Playing is learning

For children, playing is the ideal way of exploring and understanding the world around them. Playing must therefore be seen as an essential activity through which they learn to express themselves, understand the world and integrate into a group.

Whether it involves individual or group play and simple or complex rules, playing helps children learn different things in different ways.

A balanced program

Each childcare establishment applies the principles of the educational program, taking into account its own context, resources and the opportunities available in its environment. It adapts the program to the ages of the children in its care and the hours of the day when they are present.

Although the experiences offered to children can vary from one childcare establishment to another, the daily educational program must always be balanced. It must include indoor and outdoor play, calm and active play, individual and group activities, as well as small and large groups, while always being mindful of the children’s health, safety and well-being.

Educational staff and home childcare providers:

  • supervise and assist the children as they play, and through observation, collect information that is essential to assisting them in other activities;
  • provide the children with the materials they need and suited to their interests and level of development;
  • support and encourage them.

Your role as a parent

You are the person best placed to guide the educational staff or the HCPs. You can also help your child by:

  • taking an interest in his or her childcare experience;
  • asking the educators questions and giving them useful information about your child;
  • attending parent meetings.

Your collaboration is invaluable to the childcare establishment and essential to your child’s harmonious development.

Top of page

Last modified date :
August 20, 2019

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Objectifs et principes

Le programme éducatif favorise :

  • la qualité éducative des services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance;
  • la cohérence des approches éducatives mises en œuvre dans les divers services éducatifs;
  • la continuité des interventions éducatives effectuées auprès des jeunes enfants et leur famille.

Principes de base du programme éducatif

  • Le partenariat entre le service de garde éducatif à l’enfance et les parents est essentiel au développement harmonieux de l’enfant. L’accompagnement du jeune enfant dans son développement global est un projet commun, partagé par les parents, le personnel éducateur et la RSG et, lorsqu’il y a lieu, les administrateurs et toute autre personne qui travaille au service de garde. Ce partenariat, basé sur une relation de confiance mutuelle, rassure l’enfant et l’aide à établir une relation significative avec les adultes qui prennent soin de lui en l’absence de ses parents. Il favorise également le choix d’interventions individualisées adaptées à chaque enfant d’un même groupe au service de garde.
  • L'enfant apprend par le jeu. Le jeu est le moyen par lequel l’enfant réalise des apprentissages et se développe. En l’accompagnant pour lui assurer de tirer tout le potentiel des jeux qu’il amorce, le personnel éducateur et les RSG soutiennent son développement global.
  • L'enfant est l’acteur principal de son développement. C’est lorsque le jeune est l’acteur principal de son développement, lorsqu’il peut amorcer des jeux, faire des suggestions qui sont mises en œuvre au service de garde et participer aux décisions qu’il est le plus susceptible de développer son plein potentiel.
  • Chaque enfant est unique. Une connaissance approfondie de chaque enfant et de son développement aide l’adulte qui est responsable de lui à reconnaître et à respecter les particularités de chacun, son rythme de développement, ses champs d’intérêt et ses besoins.
  • Le développement de l'enfant est un processus global et intégré. Le développement de l’enfant est global. C’est un processus qui se déroule dans chacun des domaines en même temps (physique et moteur, langagier, social et affectif, cognitif). Tous les domaines s’influencent mutuellement et s’intègrent les uns aux autres pour former un tout : l’enfant.

Domaines de développement de l'enfant

  • Le développement physique et moteur — La santé et la sécurité, les besoins physiologiques (l’alimentation, le sommeil, l’hygiène), le développement sensoriel, le schéma corporel, la motricité globale et la motricité fine.
  • Le développement cognitif — L’attention, la mémoire, la fonction symbolique, les catégories et concepts, le raisonnement, l’éveil aux mathématiques et aux sciences.
  • Le développement langagier — Le langage prélinguistique, le langage oral, l’éveil à la lecture et à l’écriture ainsi que le développement graphique.
  • Le développement social et affectif— L’attachement (l’établissement d’une relation affective significative), le tempérament, le concept de soi, l’identité, les compétences émotionnelles et les compétences sociales.

Jouer, c'est apprendre

Pour votre enfant, le jeu constitue l'instrument par excellence pour explorer et comprendre son univers. Il faut donc considérer le jeu comme l'activité essentielle par laquelle il s'exprime, comprend le monde et s'intègre dans un groupe.

Qu'il s'agisse de jeux individuels ou collectifs, que les règles soient simples ou complexes, les jeux amènent votre enfant à faire des apprentissages différents.

Un programme équilibré

Chaque service de garde applique les principes du programme éducatif en tenant compte de son contexte, de ses ressources et des possibilités que lui offre son environnement. Il adapte le programme à l'âge des enfants et à la période de la journée pendant laquelle ils fréquentent le service.

Si les expériences offertes aux enfants peuvent varier d'un service de garde à l'autre, le programme éducatif quotidien doit être équilibré : jeux à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur, jeux calmes et actifs, activités individuelles et collectives, en petit et en grand groupe, en veillant toujours à la santé, à la sécurité et au bien-être des enfants.

Le personnel éducateur et les responsables d'un service de garde en milieu familial (RSG) :

  • soutiennent les jeux de l’enfant et recueillent, en l’observant, des renseignements essentiels pour l’accompagner dans d’autres activités;
  • mettent à sa disposition le matériel dont il a besoin et qui correspond à ses intérêts ainsi qu’à son niveau de développement;
  • le soutiennent et l'encouragent.

Votre rôle comme parent

Vous êtes la personne la mieux placée pour orienter le personnel éducateur ou les RSG. Aidez votre enfant :

  • intéressez-vous à ce qu'il vit au service de garde;
  • interrogez le personnel éducateur et donnez-lui des renseignements utiles sur votre enfant;
  • assistez aux rencontres de parents.

Votre collaboration est précieuse pour les services de garde et essentielle au développement harmonieux de votre enfant.


Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
9 mai 2019