Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Recognized Childcare Providers

There are several types of recognized childcare providers in Québec. Despite their specific features, they must all comply with the requirements on children’s health, safety and well-being set out in the Educational Childcare Act and the Educational Childcare Regulation.

Recognized childcare providers offer legal educational childcare, which meet strict quality standards.

As of March 31, 2018, there were more than 300,000 spaces available for Québec children across the educational childcare network of recognized childcare providers.

Your child attends a recognized childcare provider if, in particular:

The permit of the childcare provider is displayed.

  • Childcare centres and day care centres have the obligation to display their permit in each of their facilities in a place readily visible and accessible to the public at all times. Parents can also consult the Childcare Establishment Locator to check whether a day care centre or childcare centre holds a permit.

Recognized home childcare providers hold a recognition.

  • They do not have to display in their residence the document certifying their recognition by a home childcare coordinating office. However, parents may ask a recognized home childcare provider to show them the notice of acceptance received from the coordinating office. To know whether a home childcare provider is recognized, parents may also address the coordinating office for their territory. This contact information for the coordination office can be found by consulting the Childcare Establishment Locator.

The childcare provider displays the "Service de garde reconnu" (Recognized Childcare) logo.

  • The Ministère de la Famille has designed a logo that allows parents to identify recognized childcare providers easily. However, displaying this logo is not mandatory, nor does it constitute a permit or recognition. If the logo is not displayed in a location readily visible from outdoors, parents are invited to check with the childcare provider.

Top of page

Last modified date :
June 26, 2018

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Les services de garde reconnus

Il existe plusieurs milieux de garde reconnus au Québec. Malgré leurs particularités, ces prestataires de services de garde reconnus doivent tous se conformer aux exigences en matière de santé, de sécurité et de bien-être des enfants prévues à la Loi sur les services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance et au Règlement sur les services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance.

Les prestataires de services de garde reconnus offrent des services de garde éducatifs légaux, qui répondent à des normes strictes de qualité.

En date du 31 mars 2018, le réseau des services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance dispose de plus de 300 000 places disponibles pour les enfants du Québec chez des prestataires reconnus. 

Votre enfant fréquente un service de garde reconnu si, notamment : 

Le permis du prestataire est affiché

  • Les centres de la petite enfance (CPE) et les garderies ont l’obligation d’afficher leur permis dans un lieu accessible à tous et visible en tout temps. Les parents peuvent également consulter le Localisateur de services de garde afin de vérifier si une garderie ou un CPE est titulaire d’un permis. 

La personne responsable du service de garde en milieu familial (RSG) détient une reconnaissance

  • Les RSG n’ont pas à afficher dans leur résidence le document attestant de leur reconnaissance par un bureau coordonnateur de la garde en milieu familial (BC). Cependant, les parents peuvent demander à une RSG de voir l’avis d’acceptation qui lui a été envoyé par le BC. Pour savoir si une RSG est reconnue, les parents peuvent aussi s’adresser au BC de leur territoire. Les parents peuvent trouver ce BC en consultant le Localisateur de services de garde. 

Le prestataire de services de garde affiche le logo « Service de garde reconnu »

  • Le ministère de la Famille a conçu un logo qui permet de repérer facilement les prestataires de services de garde reconnus. L’apposition de ce logo n’est toutefois pas obligatoire et n’équivaut pas à un permis ou à une reconnaissance. Si le logo n’est pas affiché dans un endroit facilement visible de l’extérieur, les parents sont invités à vérifier auprès du prestataire de services de garde. 

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
14 juin 2018