Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Safety of outdoor play areas

Childcare centres (CPE) and day care centres must have an outdoor play space suitably and safely laid out (or have access to a public park within 500 metres), because children need to be physically active in a safe environment so they can develop. The layout of the outdoor play space must also facilitate the role of the childcare staff.

When childcare centres (CPE) and day care centres decide to establish an outdoor play area integrating outdoor play equipment, they have the following obligations:

  • comply with the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) standard, the application of which makes it possible to prevent accidents and injuries;
  • maintain the equipment;
  • keep the registers provided for to this effect;
  • record everything in their annual report.

Each childcare centre (CPE) and each day care centre must provide the Ministère de la Famille with a certificate of compliance, issued by a professional qualified to conduct the required inspections, attesting that the outdoor play space and its equipment comply with the CSA standard. The certificate is valid for a three-year period.

On the occasion of their regular inspections, the Department's inspections pay special attention to the outdoor play areas, particularly focusing on breaks in equipment and protective surfaces.

Contrary to childcare centres (CPE) and day care centres, the home childcare provider is not obliged to make an outdoor yard available to the children. However, when the HCP does so, he or she is responsible for ensuring that any climbing apparatus, swing, slide or similar outdoor equipment has smooth surfaces with no sharp edges, is safe and is installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.

Top of page

Last modified date :
April 9, 2020

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

La sécurité des aires de jeu extérieures

Les CPE et les garderies doivent avoir un espace extérieur de jeu aménagé de façon adéquate et sécuritaire (ou avoir accès à un parc public à moins de 500 mètres), car les enfants ont besoin d’être physiquement actifs dans un environnement sécuritaire pour qu’ils puissent se développer. L’aménagement de l’espace extérieur de jeu doit aussi faciliter le rôle du personnel du service de garde.

Lorsque les CPE et les garderies décident de se doter d’une aire extérieure de jeu intégrant un équipement extérieur de jeu, ils ont les obligations suivantes :

  • respecter la norme de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA), une norme dont l’application permet de prévenir les accidents et les blessures;
  • effectuer l’entretien des équipements;
  • tenir à jour les registres prévus à cet effet;
  • consigner le tout dans leur rapport annuel.

Chaque CPE et chaque garderie doit fournir au ministère de la Famille un certificat de conformité, délivré par un professionnel habilité à procéder aux vérifications requises, attestant que l’espace extérieur de jeu et ses équipements respectent la norme CSA. Le certificat est valide pour une période de trois ans.

À l’occasion de leurs inspections régulières, les inspecteurs du Ministère prêtent une attention particulière aux aires extérieures de jeu en s’attardant notamment aux bris dans les équipements et aux surfaces de protection.

Contrairement aux CPE et aux garderies, la personne responsable d’un service de garde en milieu familial n’est pas obligée de mettre à la disposition des enfants une cour extérieure. Toutefois, lorsqu’elle le fait, elle a la responsabilité de s’assurer que toute structure d’escalade, balançoire, glissoire ou tout autre équipement extérieur a des surfaces lisses et non tranchantes, est sécuritaire et est installé selon les instructions du fabricant.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
28 mars 2014