Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

The four types of recognized childcare services

Childcare centre (CPE)

A childcare centre (CPE) is a legal person (non-profit organization or cooperative) that provides educational childcare services in one or more facilities. Its board of directors is composed of at least seven members, at least two thirds of whom are user parents or future users of the services provided by the childcare centre (CPE).

The childcare services offered by childcare centres (CPE) are generally subsidized; the spaces offered by childcare centres (CPE) therefore essentially are reduced-contribution spaces for parents.

Subsidized day care centre

A day care centre is a legal person (non-profit organization, cooperative or business corporation), a natural person or an Aboriginal band council providing educational childcare services in a facility. A day care centre has the obligation to form a parent advisory committee to deal with all aspects concerning the care of the children admitted to the day care centre.

A subsidized day care centre offers reduced-contribution spaces.

Non-subsidized day care centre

A day care centre is a legal person (non-profit organization, cooperative or business corporation), a natural person or an Aboriginal band council providing educational childcare services in a facility. A day care centre has the obligation to form a parent advisory committee to deal with all aspects concerning the care of the children admitted to the day care centre.

A non-subsidized day care centre does not offer reduced-contribution spaces. It decides by itself on the daily rate the parent will pay. A parent whose child does not benefit from a reduced contribution place may nonetheless receive a tax credit for childcare expenses concerning the expense's paid for his or her child's care.

Home childcare service recognized by a Home Childcare Coordinating Office

A home childcare service is offered by a person in a private residence. The vast majority of home childcare providers (HCP) recognized by a Home Childcare Coordinating Office offer reduced-contribution spaces.

An HCP may receive a maximum of nine children under nine years of age, including the HCP's own children. However, an HCP who receives from seven to nine children must be assisted by another adult.

Top of page

Last modified date :
April 9, 2020

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Les quatre types de services de garde reconnus

Centre de la petite enfance (CPE)

Un CPE est une personne morale (organisme sans but lucratif ou coopérative) qui fournit des services de garde éducatifs dans une ou des installations. Son conseil d’administration est composé d’au moins sept membres dont au moins les deux tiers sont des parents usagers ou de futurs usagers des services fournis par le CPE.

Les services de garde offerts par les CPE sont généralement subventionnés; les places offertes par un CPE sont donc essentiellement des places à contribution réduite pour les parents.

Garderie subventionnée

Une garderie est une personne morale (organisme sans but lucratif, coopérative ou société par actions), une personne physique ou un conseil de bande autochtone qui fournit des services de garde éducatifs dans une installation. Une garderie a l’obligation de former un comité consultatif de parents pour traiter tous les aspects touchant la garde des enfants reçus à la garderie.

Une garderie subventionnée offre des places à contribution réduite.

Garderie non subventionnée

Une garderie est une personne morale (organisme sans but lucratif, coopérative ou société par actions), une personne physique ou un conseil de bande autochtone qui fournit des services de garde éducatifs dans une installation. Une garderie a l’obligation de former un comité consultatif de parents pour traiter tous les aspects touchant la garde des enfants reçus à la garderie.

Une garderie non subventionnée n’offre pas de places à contribution réduite. Elle décide elle-même du tarif quotidien que paiera le parent. Le parent dont l’enfant ne bénéficie pas d’une place à contribution réduite peut néanmoins recevoir un crédit d’impôt pour frais de garde d’enfants remboursable du Québec concernant les frais payés pour la garde de son enfant.

Service de garde en milieu familial reconnu par un bureau coordonnateur de la garde en milieu familial

Un service de garde en milieu familial est offert par une personne dans une résidence privée. La grande majorité des personnes responsables d’un service de garde en milieu familial (RSG) reconnues par un bureau coordonnateur de la garde en milieu familial offrent des places à contribution réduite.

Une RSG peut recevoir un maximum de neuf enfants de moins de neuf ans, incluant ses enfants. Toutefois, si elle accueille de sept à neuf enfants, elle doit être assistée d’un autre adulte.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
25 novembre 2013