Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

A sufficient number of qualified staff

In childcare centres and day care centres, the Educational Childcare Regulation (ECR) defines a staff member as a staff member assigned to the implementation of the educational program for the children.

In addition, the ECR requires permit holders to ensure that the minimum number of childcare staff members present to look after the children receiving childcare in the holder's facility respects the following ratios:

  • one member for 5 or fewer children present under 18 months of age;
  • one member for 8 or fewer children present from 18 months of age to under 4 years of age;
  • one member for 10 or fewer children present from 4 years of age to under 5 years of age on September 30;
  • one member for 20 or fewer children present from 5 years of age and older on September 30.

Moreover, the ECR introduces staff qualification requirements. A staff member is qualified who holds a diploma of college studies in early childhood education or any other equivalent training recognized by the Minister of Families, as specified in the Directive concernant l’évaluation de la qualification du personnel de garde et les équivalences de formation reconnues (Directive concerning the evaluation of childcare staff qualification and the recognized equivalent training).

Finally, the permit holder must ensure that two childcare staff members out of three are qualified and present each day with the children while childcare is being provided. If the number of childcare staff members is less than three, then at least one of the members must be qualified.

Home childcare service

For a person to be able to act as a home childcare provider (HCP), that person must have completed a training program of at least 45 hours, no later than two years after recognition by a Home Childcare Coordinating Office. This training pertains to safety, health and diet, and the role of the HCP, but concentrates mainly on child development and the educational program provided for by the Ministère de la Famille. The diploma of college studies in early childhood education or any other equivalent training recognized by the Minister may replace this training.

In addition, the HCP must take six hours of refresher training every year.

First aid course

The childcare centres (CPE) and the day care centres must also ensure that each of their childcare staff members holds a certificate not older than three years. This certificate must attest that the member has successfully completed a minimum 8-hour early childhood first aid course or a minimum 6-hour refresher course updating the knowledge acquired as part of the general first aid course.

The HCPs must meet the same requirements as the staff members of the childcare centres (CPE) and the day care centres concerning the first aid course.

Top of page

Last modified date :
April 9, 2020

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Du personnel en nombre suffisant et qualifié

Dans les centres de la petite enfance et les garderies, le Règlement sur les services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance (RSGEE) définit un membre du personnel de garde comme un membre du personnel affecté à la mise en application du programme éducatif auprès des enfants.

De plus, le RSGEE exige des titulaires de permis qu’ils s’assurent que le nombre minimum de membres du personnel de garde présents pour assumer la garde des enfants qu'il reçoit dans son installation respecte les ratios suivants :

  • un membre pour 5 enfants ou moins, âgés de moins de 18 mois, présents;
  • un membre pour 8 enfants ou moins, âgés de 18 mois à moins de 4 ans, présents;
  • un membre pour 10 enfants ou moins, âgés de 4 ans à moins de 5 ans au 30 septembre, présents;
  • un membre pour 20 enfants ou moins, âgés de 5 ans et plus au 30 septembre, présents.

Par ailleurs, le RSGEE introduit des exigences concernant la qualification du personnel. Ainsi est qualifié le membre du personnel qui possède un diplôme d'études collégiales en techniques d'éducation à l'enfance ou toute autre équivalence reconnue par la ministre de la Famille, comme le précise la Directive concernant l’évaluation de la qualification du personnel de garde et les équivalences de formation reconnues.

Enfin, le titulaire de permis doit s’assurer qu'au moins deux membres du personnel de garde sur trois sont qualifiés et présents chaque jour auprès des enfants durant la prestation des services de garde. Si le nombre de membres du personnel de garde est inférieur à trois, au moins un de ses membres doit être qualifié.

Service de garde en milieu familial

Pour qu’une personne puisse agir à titre de personne responsable d’un service de garde en milieu familial (RSG), elle doit avoir suivi une formation d’une durée de 45 heures, au plus tard deux ans après sa reconnaissance par un bureau coordonnateur de la garde en milieu familial. Cette formation aborde la sécurité, la santé et l’alimentation ainsi que le rôle de la RSG, mais se concentre surtout sur le développement de l’enfant ainsi que sur le programme éducatif prévu par le ministère de la Famille. Le diplôme d'études collégiales en techniques d'éducation à l'enfance ou toute autre équivalence reconnue par la ministre peut remplacer cette formation.

De plus, chaque année, la RSG doit suivre six heures de perfectionnement.

Cours de secourisme

Les CPE et les garderies doivent également s'assurer que chaque membre de leur personnel de garde est titulaire d'un certificat datant d'au plus trois ans. Celui-ci doit attester la réussite d'un cours de secourisme général d'une durée minimale de huit heures ou d'un cours d'appoint d'une durée minimale de six heures visant la mise à jour des connaissances acquises dans le cours de secourisme général.

Les RSG doivent respecter les mêmes exigences que les membres du personnel des CPE et des garderies concernant le cours de secourisme.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
5 octobre 2016