Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Inspections in childcare centres (CPE) and day care centres

To ensure the quality of the services offered to the children, Ministère de la Famille inspectors conduct inspections in childcare centres (CPE) and daycare centres. They thus ensure compliance with the legal and regulatory requirements related to children's health and safety standards, such as:

  • the ratio between the number of educators present and the number of children admitted;
  • the qualifications of the staff members assigned to application of the educational program with the children;
  • verification that no impediment exists for staff members, trainees and volunteers;
  • access, premises and outdoor layouts;
  • mandatory apparatus and equipment in the service areas;
  • diet;
  • medications and their administration;
  • cleanliness and sanitation;
  • storage of maintenance products and toxic products;
  • contents of registration cards;
  • list of emergency telephone numbers;
  • verification of attendance cards.

Since the children's health and safety is a priority for the Ministère de la Famille, the inspection process is very rigorous. The fact that a large number of elements are inspected explains why it is very rare for a childcare service not to show any breach during an inspection.

Out of a concern for information, transparency and continuous quality improvement, the Ministère de la Famille, since November 15, 2009, has made accessible the results of the health and safety inspections conducted in childcare centres (CPE) and daycare centres in Québec. These results allow parents to better know the educational childcare services that interest them.

It is possible to access this information with the Childcare Establishment Locator.

The Ministère de la Famille has also created the Info Inspection bulletin to distribute information on matters concerning children's health and safety inspection practices in educational childcare services. This bulletin also provides clarifications regarding the application of certain legislative and regulatory provisions. Info Inspection is mainly intended for childcare centre (CPE) and daycare centre permit holders.

Top of page

Last modified date :
April 9, 2020

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Les inspections dans les CPE et les garderies

Pour s’assurer de la qualité des services offerts aux enfants, les inspecteurs du ministère de la Famille effectuent des inspections dans les CPE et les garderies. Ils s’assurent ainsi du respect des exigences légales et réglementaires liées aux normes de santé et de sécurité des enfants, telles que :

  • le ratio entre le nombre d’éducateurs présents et le nombre d’enfants reçus;
  • la qualification des membres du personnel affecté à la mise en application du programme éducatif auprès des enfants;
  • la vérification de l'absence d'empêchement des membres du personnel, des stagiaires et des bénévoles;
  • les accès, les locaux et les aménagements extérieurs;
  • les appareils et les équipements obligatoires dans les aires de service;
  • l'alimentation;
  • les médicaments et leur administration;
  • la propreté et la salubrité;
  • le rangement des produits d'entretien et des produits toxiques;
  • le contenu des fiches d'inscription;
  • la liste des numéros de téléphone d'urgence;
  • la vérification des fiches d’assiduité.

La santé et la sécurité des enfants étant une priorité pour le ministère de la Famille, le processus d'inspection est très rigoureux. Le fait qu'un grand nombre d'éléments soient vérifiés explique qu'il est très rare qu'un service de garde ne présente aucun manquement lors d'une inspection.

C'est dans un souci d'information, de transparence et d'amélioration continue de la qualité que le ministère de la Famille rend accessibles, depuis le 15 novembre 2009, les résultats des inspections en santé et sécurité effectuées dans les CPE et les garderies du Québec. Ces résultats permettent aux parents de mieux connaître les services de garde éducatifs qui les intéressent.

Il est possible d’accéder à cette information à l'aide du Localisateur de services de garde.

Le ministère de la Famille a aussi créé le bulletin Info Inspection afin de diffuser de l’information sur les sujets touchant les pratiques d’inspection en matière de santé et de sécurité des enfants en services de garde éducatifs. Ce bulletin apporte également des précisions quant à l’application de certaines dispositions législatives et réglementaires. L’Info Inspection est principalement destiné aux titulaires de permis de CPE et de garderie.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
8 avril 2014