Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Safe administration of medications

Regardless of whether they are childhood centres (CPE), day care centres or home childcare services, recognized educational childcare services must comply with the standards set out in the Educational Childcare Regulation (ECR), particularly concerning the keeping, administration and labelling of medication.

In particular, the ECR prohibits the administration of medication to a child without the written authorization of the parent and a member of the Collège des médecins du Québec. In the case of prescription medication, the information recorded by the pharmacist on the label is proof of the physician's authorization.

The label on the medication container must state the child's name, the name of the medication, the expiry date, the dose and the duration of the treatment. The childcare service provider must designate one or more persons in writing to administer medication to children.

However, the ECR provides for certain exceptions. Saline nasal drops, oral hydration solutions (Pedialyte, Gastrolyte, Lytren, etc.), zinc oxide-based diaper rash cream, calamine lotion, sunscreen cream, moisturizing cream and lip balm may be administered without medical authorization, on condition that the parent has given written authorization.

Acetaminophen (Tempra, Atasol, Tylenol or other house brands) may also be administered and insect repellent may be applied to a child without medical authorization, on condition the administration complies with the protocols set out in the ECR and these protocols are signed by the parent.

Top of page

Last modified date :
April 9, 2020

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

L’administration sécuritaire des médicaments

Qu’il s’agisse des CPE, des garderies ou des services de garde en milieu familial, les services de garde éducatifs reconnus doivent respecter les normes prévues au Règlement sur les services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance (RSGEE), notamment en ce qui concerne l'administration, l'étiquetage et l'entreposage de médicaments.

Le RSGEE interdit, entre autres, l’administration d’un médicament à un enfant sans l'autorisation écrite du parent et d'un membre du Collège des médecins du Québec. Dans le cas d'un médicament prescrit, les renseignements inscrits par le pharmacien sur l'étiquette font foi de l'autorisation du médecin.

L'étiquette du contenant d'un médicament doit indiquer le nom de l'enfant, le nom du médicament, sa date d'expiration, sa posologie et la durée du traitement. Le prestataire de services a l’obligation de désigner par écrit une ou des personnes pour l’administration des médicaments aux enfants.

Le RSGEE prévoit toutefois certaines exceptions. Des gouttes nasales salines, des solutions orales d'hydratation (de type Pedialyte, Gastrolyte, Lytren, etc.), de la crème pour le siège à base d'oxyde de zinc, de la lotion calamine, de la crème solaire, de la crème hydratante et du baume à lèvres peuvent être administrés sans autorisation médicale, pourvu que le parent ait donné son autorisation par écrit.

On peut aussi administrer de l’acétaminophène (de type Tempra, Atasol, Tylenol ou autres marques maison) et appliquer de l’insectifuge à un enfant sans autorisation médicale, pourvu que l’administration soit conforme aux protocoles prévus au RSGEE et que ces protocoles soient signés par le parent.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
5 octobre 2016