Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

How to find your way around the childcare services offered in Québec

In Québec, childcare services are offered in two types of settings: facility-based childcare (day care centres and childcare centres) or home childcare.

Childcare offered in facilities (daycare centres and childcare centres (CPE))

  • Childcare in facilities is offered by childcare centres, subsidized day care centres (which offer reduced-contribution spaces) and non-subsidized day care centres for which the daily fixed rate per child varies depending on the facility.

Home childcare services

  • Individuals who offer home childcare services can be recognized as a home childcare provider by a home childcare coordinating office. Those wishing to offer reduced-contribution spaces or receive more than 6 children, but never more than 9, must be recognized and, in the later, be assisted by another adult. People not wishing to be recognized can provide childcare services subject to certain conditions.

Frequently asked questions

  • Will all childcare services receive the logo?
    • Only recognized childcare providers, in other words childcare centres, subsidized and non-subsidized day care centres and home childcare providers recognized by a home childcare coordinating office, will receive the logo. Providers of home childcare services who are not recognized will not receive the logo.

  • Is it mandatory to display the logo?
    • Childcare centres, day care centres and home childcare providers recognized by a coordinating office are invited by the Ministère de la Famille to display the logo, but this is not mandatory.

  • Does the logo guarantee the quality of the childcare services?
    • The logo clearly shows parents that the childcare provider undertakes to comply with the legal and regulatory framework and to assure a healthy and safe environment for children.

  • Does the logo indicate this is a reduced-contribution childcare service?
    • No. The logo indicates that the childcare providers are recognized and subject to the requirements governing the quality of educational childcare services.

  • My childcare service has not displayed the logo. What can I do to ensure it is in good standing?
    • It is not mandatory for the childcare service provider to display the logo.

      To check if a childcare centre or daycare centre holds a permit, you can ask to see it. As stipulated in the Act, these service providers must display their permit in each of their facilities in a place readily visible and accessible to the public at all times. You can also look up the Childcare Establishment Locator, to check whether a day care centre or a childcare centre holds a permit.

      Home childcare providers do not obtain a permit and do not have to display a document in their residence. To find out if a home childcare provider is recognized, you can address the home childcare coordinating office for your territory (see the Childcare Establishment Locator to find this office). If the persons providing the childcare service are not recognized, they are required to provide you with certain documents that will allow you to judge their compliance with applicable regulations.

  • My childcare service does not display the logo and, after checking, the person in charge tells me it does not hold a permit from the Ministère de la Famille. I have the impression the childcare service is illegal. What should I do?
    • If a person who is not recognized is offering home childcare, you should know that this person must meet certain requirements to be able to provide childcare services. This person does not need to be issued a recognition by a coordinating office if it meets each of the requirements. Consequently, this person cannot display a logo.

If you need more information or have doubts regarding the legality of a childcare service, you may contact the Service des renseignements.

Top of page

Last modified date :
July 16, 2018

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Foire aux questions

Au Québec, les services de garde sont offerts dans deux types de milieux : en installation (garderies et CPE) et en milieu familial.

Les services offerts en installation (garderies et CPE)

  • Les services de garde en installation sont offerts par les centres de la petite enfance (CPE), par les garderies subventionnées (qui offrent des places à contribution réduite) et par les garderies non subventionnées dont le tarif fixé quotidiennement par enfant varie en fonction des installations.

Les services de garde offerts en milieu familial

  • Les personnes qui offrent des services de garde en milieu familial peuvent être reconnues à titre de responsables d’un service de garde en milieu familial (RSG) par un bureau coordonnateur de la garde en milieu familial (BC). Les personnes qui désirent offrir des places donnant droit au paiement de la contribution réduite ou recevoir plus de 6 enfants, sans toutefois excéder 9 enfants, doivent être reconnues et être assistées d’un autre adulte. Les personnes qui ne souhaitent pas être reconnues peuvent fournir des services de garde sous réserve du respect de certaines conditions.

 

Foire aux questions

  • Est-ce tous les services de garde qui recevront le logo?
    • Seuls les prestataires de services de garde reconnus, soit les CPE, les garderies subventionnées et non subventionnées et les personnes responsables d’un service de garde en milieu familial reconnues par un bureau coordonnateur recevront le logo. Les personnes non reconnues qui offrent des services de garde en milieu familial ne recevront pas le logo.

  • Est-ce que son apposition est obligatoire?
    • Les CPE, les garderies ainsi que les RSG reconnues par un bureau coordonnateur sont invités par le Ministère à apposer le logo, mais l’apposition n’est pas obligatoire.

  • Est-ce que ce logo garantit la qualité des services de garde?
    • Le logo démontre clairement aux parents que le service de garde s’engage à respecter le cadre légal et réglementaire et à assurer aux enfants un milieu sain et sécuritaire.

  • Est-ce que le logo indique qu’il s’agit d’un service de garde à contribution réduite?
    • Non, le logo indique que le service de garde est reconnu et soumis à des exigences en matière de qualité des services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance.

  • Mon service de garde n’a pas affiché le logo. Comment puis-je faire pour m’assurer qu’il est en règle?
    • L’apposition du logo n’est pas obligatoire.

      Pour vérifier si un CPE ou une garderie est titulaire d’un permis, vous pouvez demander de le voir. Tel que le stipule la Loi, ces services doivent afficher un permis dans chacune de leurs installations en un lieu accessible à tous et visible en tout temps. Vous pouvez également consulter le localisateur de service de garde dans le site Internet du Ministère afin de vérifier si la garderie ou le CPE a un permis.

      Dans les cas des services de garde en milieu familial, les responsables n’obtiennent pas de permis et n’ont pas à afficher un document dans leur résidence. Pour savoir si une RSG est reconnue, vous pouvez vous adresser au bureau coordonnateur de la garde en milieu familial (BC) de votre territoire (voir le localisateur du service de garde pour trouver le BC). Si la personne qui fournit les services de garde n’est pas reconnue, elle a l’obligation de vous fournir certains documents qui vous permettront de juger de sa conformité aux règles applicables.

  • Mon service de garde n’affiche pas le logo et après vérification, la personne responsable m’informe qu’elle n’a pas de permis du Ministère. J’ai l’impression que le service de garde est illégal. Que dois-je faire?
    • S’il s’agit d’une personne non reconnue qui offre des services de garde en milieu familial, il faut savoir qu’elle doit respecter certaines conditions pour pouvoir fournir des services de garde. Cette personne n’a pas besoin de se faire accorder une reconnaissance par un bureau coordonnateur si elle respecte chacune des exigences. Par conséquent, elle ne pourra pas afficher de logo.

     

    Pour obtenir de l’information complémentaire ou si vous avez des doutes sur la légalité d’un service de garde, n’hésitez pas à joindre le Service des renseignements.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
15 juin 2018