Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Examples of bullying situations in different environments

Cyberspace:

  • Youths mock one of their teachers for being overweight in a video posted online, which is relayed by a large number of Web visitors. The man suffers consequences that affect him in his professional and personal life.
  • A university student regularly receives texts or emails calling him a "loser". He avoids other students and skips his classes more and more often.
  • Someone posts an intimate photo of a woman on the Internet. She feels humiliated and betrayed. She tries in vain to delete the photo.

Family:

  • A young girl is constantly denigrated by her half-brother. She feels demeaned by his attitude to the extent that she loses her appetite, avoids the common areas of the home and takes refuge in her bedroom.
  • A man who is losing his autonomy regularly accepts to give money to his daughter, despite his low income, because she threatens to stop running errands for him (grocery, pharmacy, etc.) -- a service that allows him to keep living at home -- if he does not give her the amounts requested.
  • An elderly woman is threatened verbally by her son, with whom she lives. She is afraid for her safety, but does not report him, particularly because of the family tie that binds them.

School:

  • A young boy who does not match the sexual stereotypes is regularly called a "fag" by some classmates in the cafeteria and the gym. The other students start to ignore him and he suffers from this isolation. He looks for every possible way to avoid these places.
  • A Black youth is the target of repeated racist insults by a group of secondary school students. He doesn't know how to react, starts staying away and has difficulty concentrating, which has negative consequences for his school results and his well-being.
  • A young girl with an intellectual disability frequently has her tuque, umbrella or boots snatched on the bus. She often cries during the trip and has outbursts before going to school.
  • A child with autism spectrum disorder is often followed by a group of students who imitate and mock him. The student in question becomes anxious.
  • A trio of students regularly oblige a new student in school to give them his lunch. The student in question does not report the situation, fearing reprisals.
  • False rumours about the sexual behaviour of a teenage girl are spread at school and on social media. The girl feels humiliated. She no longer wants to attend this school and is often absent without authorization.
  • A teenage girl announces that her boyfriend was "stolen" by another girl and turns her whole gang against her.

Caregiving or residential facility:

  • In a private seniors' residence, a senior repeatedly insults another resident. This resident increasingly avoids the common areas so that he no longer has to put up with these verbal attacks.
  • A disabled person living in a condominium asserts her adaptation needs by asking for an elevator to be installed. Her neighbours then insult her and gather daily near her door to smoke, in order to induce her to leave her condo.

Sports environment:

  • At the arena, a coach constantly insults and threatens a young referee during a hockey game. Some parents follow his example and add their own insults and threats. The young referee becomes increasingly nervous and unsure of himself.
  • Denigrating graffiti regularly appear on the locker of a homosexual athlete. She does not feel accepted by her teammates and feels alone, which impels her to abandon training and competition.
  • A basketball player shoves an opponent whenever their teams compete against each other, and threatens to beat him up off the court. The targeted player is worried about his safety.
  • A soccer coach always publicly humiliates the same player to get her to make a greater effort. The athlete is embarrassed to appear in front of her teammates.

Municipality:

  • Every week, in the locker room at the public pool, teenage girls make fun of another swimmer's weight. She bursts into tears and promises herself she'll never go back to recreational swimming.

Work:

  • A contractor feels intimidated, because he receives calls and threats from a competitor who wants him to withdraw from a call for tenders.
  • A patient attendant from an ethnocultural minority works in a seniors' residence. She is regularly the target of unpleasant comments from residents, which affect her self-confidence and her work relationships.
  • The colleagues of an older worker regularly suggest that it's time for her to retire, which causes her to believe that her competencies are being questioned. She therefore avoids teamwork and no longer takes initiatives.

Neighbourhood:

  • A neighbour regularly insults the members of a family who recently moved into the neighbourhood and vandalizes their property because of their ethnocultural origin. The family doesn't feel welcome and the situation is stressful for all its members. The parents ask themselves if they should move again.
  • In a rental building, a neighbour constantly threatens the parents of an autistic child that he will have them evicted if their child keeps making noise. The parents fear that the neighbour will achieve his ends and the situation makes them anxious, especially since their child greatly needs stability.

Top of page

Last modified date :
June 4, 2021

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Exemples de situations d’intimidation dans différents milieux

Cyberespace :

  • Des jeunes se moquent du surpoids d’un de leurs enseignants dans une vidéo diffusée en ligne qui est relayée par un grand nombre d’internautes. L'homme en subit des conséquences qui l'affectent dans sa vie professionnelle et personnelle.
  • Un étudiant à l’université reçoit régulièrement des textos ou des courriels le traitant de « loser ». Il évite les autres étudiants et manque de plus en plus souvent ses cours.
  • Quelqu’un dépose une photo intime d’une femme sur Internet. Cette dernière se sent humiliée et trahie. Elle tente en vain de supprimer la photo.
  • Des commentaires récurrents et discriminatoires à propos des Premières Nations et des Inuits sont publiés en réaction à des articles en ligne.

Famille :

  • Une jeune fille est constamment dénigrée par son demi-frère. Elle se sent démunie devant son attitude à tel point qu’elle perd l’appétit, évite les aires communes de la maison et se replie dans sa chambre.
  • Un homme en perte d’autonomie accepte de donner régulièrement de l’argent à sa fille, malgré son faible revenu, parce que celle-ci menace de cesser de faire ses emplettes (épicerie, pharmacie, etc.), un service qui lui permet de rester chez lui, s’il ne lui donne pas les sommes demandées.
  • Une femme âgée se fait menacer verbalement par son fils, avec qui elle cohabite. Elle craint pour sa sécurité, mais ne le dénonce pas, notamment en raison du lien familial qui les unit.

Milieu scolaire :

  • Un jeune garçon ne correspondant pas aux stéréotypes sexuels se fait régulièrement traiter de « fif » à la cafétéria et au gymnase par certains camarades de classe. Les autres élèves commencent à l’ignorer et il souffre de cet isolement. Il cherche tous les moyens possibles pour éviter ces lieux.
  • Un jeune Noir est la cible d'insultes racistes répétées par un groupe d’élèves à l’école secondaire. Il ne sait pas comment réagir, commence à se tenir à l’écart et éprouve de la difficulté à se concentrer, ce qui a des conséquences négatives sur ses résultats scolaires et sur son bien-être.
  • Une jeune fille ayant une incapacité intellectuelle se fait fréquemment prendre sa tuque, son parapluie ou ses bottes dans l'autobus. Elle pleure souvent pendant le parcours et fait des crises avant d’aller à l’école.
  • Un élève ayant un trouble du spectre de l’autisme se fait souvent suivre par un groupe d'élèves qui l’imitent et se moquent de lui. L’élève en question devient angoissé.
  • Un trio d’élèves oblige régulièrement un élève nouvellement arrivé à l’école à lui remettre son lunch. L'élève en question ne dénonce pas la situation, par peur de représailles.
  • De fausses rumeurs sur le comportement sexuel d’une adolescente sont propagées à l’école et dans les médias sociaux. La jeune fille se sent humiliée. Elle ne veut plus fréquenter cette école et s'absente souvent sans autorisation.
  • Une adolescente annonce « qu’elle s’est fait voler » son amoureux par une autre fille et dresse toute sa gang contre l’autre.

Milieu d’hébergement ou résidentiel :

  • Dans une résidence privée pour personnes aînées, un aîné insulte de façon répétitive un autre résident. Ce dernier évite de plus en plus les aires communes pour ne plus avoir à subir ces agressions verbales. 
  • Une personne handicapée vivant en copropriété fait valoir ses besoins d’adaptation en demandant l’installation d’un ascenseur, à la suite de quoi ses voisins l’insultent et se rassemblent quotidiennement près de sa porte pour fumer, de manière à l’inciter à quitter son condo.

Milieu sportif :

  • À l’aréna, un entraîneur insulte et menace sans cesse un jeune arbitre pendant une partie de hockey. Certains parents emboîtent le pas et en rajoutent. Le jeune arbitre devient de plus en plus nerveux et hésitant.
  • Des graffitis dénigrants apparaissent régulièrement sur le casier d’une athlète homosexuelle. Elle ne se sent pas acceptée par ses coéquipières, se sent seule, ce qui la pousse à abandonner l’entraînement et la compétition.
  • Chaque fois que leurs équipes s’affrontent, un basketteur bouscule physiquement un adversaire et menace de s’en prendre à lui à l’extérieur du terrain. Le joueur ciblé est inquiet pour sa sécurité.
  • Un entraîneur de soccer humilie publiquement toujours la même joueuse dans le but d’obtenir d’elle davantage d’efforts. L’athlète est gênée de se présenter devant ses coéquipières.

Municipalité :

  • Dans les vestiaires de la piscine publique, des adolescentes se moquent chaque semaine du poids d’une baigneuse. Celle-ci fond en larmes et se promet de ne plus revenir au bain libre.

Travail :

  • Un entrepreneur se sent intimidé, car il reçoit des appels et des menaces d’un concurrent souhaitant qu’il se retire d’un appel d’offres.
  • Une préposée aux bénéficiaires de minorité ethnoculturelle travaille dans une résidence pour personnes aînées. Elle est régulièrement la cible de commentaires désagréables de la part de résidantes et résidants, ce qui a des conséquences sur sa confiance en elle et sur ses relations de travail.
  • Les collègues d’une travailleuse âgée font régulièrement allusion au fait qu’il est temps qu’elle prenne sa retraite, ce qui lui laisse croire que ses compétences sont remises en question. Elle évite donc le travail d’équipe et ne prend plus d’initiatives.

Voisinage :  

  • Un voisin insulte régulièrement les membres d’une famille nouvellement installée dans le quartier et vandalise leur propriété en raison de leur origine ethnoculturelle. La famille ne se sent pas bienvenue et la situation stresse tous ses membres. Les parents se demandent s’ils devraient déménager de nouveau.
  • Dans un immeuble locatif, un voisin menace constamment les parents d’un enfant autiste de les faire expulser si leur enfant n’est pas moins bruyant. Les parents craignent qu’il parvienne à ses fins et la situation les angoisse d’autant plus que leur enfant a un grand besoin de stabilité.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
1er décembre 2015