Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Legal framework

In Québec, acts of bullying are legally governed, in particular, by the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms (sections 1, 4 and 10), the Education Act (section 13, subsections 1.1, 75.1, 75.2, 75.3 and 76) and the Criminal Code (section 83).

The fight against bullying in all environments is particularly based on compliance with the rules and living codes that a society adopts for "living together". This notion is based on democratic values that are also rights protected by the Québec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms, which provides that:

  • Every human being has a right to life, and to personal security, inviolability and freedom (section 1);
  • Every person has a right to the safeguard of his dignity, honour and reputation. (section 4);
  • Every person has a right to full and equal recognition and exercise of his human rights and freedoms, without distinction, exclusion or preference based on race, colour, sex, gender identity or expression, pregnancy, sexual orientation, civil status, age except as provided by law, religion, political convictions, language, ethnic or national origin, social condition, a handicap or the use of any means to palliate a handicap (section 10).

Other laws, in their field of application govern various behaviours that can constitute bullying, recognize the rights of individuals to dignity and integrity, and offer the possibility of penalizing those who impair these rights.

  • Civil Code
    • The Civil Code presents provisions that may apply to bullying or cyberbullying.
  • Criminal Code of Canada
    • The Criminal Code a series of behaviours of a criminal nature and stipulates their sanctions. Some forms of bullying may be expressed by various behaviours, like hitting or pushing someone, spitting on someone, or threatening to cause death or serious bodily harm to any person. Under sections 264.1 and 265, these behaviours are all considered crimes. In the case of repetitive threats, this may be considered as criminal harassment under section 264.
  • Youth Criminal Justice Act
    • One of the main objectives of the Youth Criminal Justice Act is to protect the public. However, the youth criminal justice system is different from the one that applies to adults in many areas. The youth system gives adolescents a just and proportionate responsibility that is compatible with their level of maturity. It helps rehabilitate and reintegrate youth back into the community and insists on the importance of intervening quickly.
  • Youth Protection Act
    • The Youth Protection Act applies to children who are living situations that compromise or may compromise their security or development and where the parents fail to correct the situation. It applies to children deemed to be in great difficulty and in need of protection.
  • Act Respecting Assistance for Victims of Crime
  • Crime Victims Compensation Act
    • The Crime Victims Compensation Act enables victims of a criminal offence to receive financial compensation in the event of psychological or physical harm, and for medical and paramedical expenses spent on their rehabilitation.
  • Education Act
    • The Education Act regulates the duties and obligations of public educational institutions, in particular the obligation of adopting and implementing an action plan against bullying and violence.
  • The Act Respecting Private Education
    • The The Act Respecting Private Education regulates the duties and obligations of private educational institutions, in particular the obligation of adopting and implementing an action plan against bullying and violence.
  • Act Respecting Labour Standards
    • The Act Respecting Labour Standards states the right of any employee to work in an environment free from psychological harassment and the duty of the employer to take all reasonable means to avoid psychological harm and, when such conduct is brought to the employer’s attention, to make it stop.
  • Act to Modify the Organization and Governance of the Health and Social Services System by Abolishing the Regional Agencies and Act Respecting Health Service and Social Services
  • Act Respecting the Ministère de la Sécurité publique (MSP)
    • Under the Act Respecting the Ministère de la Sécurité publique, the MSP must prevent crime and safeguard the public’s security and protection. Thus, it is in charge of maintaining public security and preventing crime. It must also oversee the social rehabilitation of inmates.
  • Act to Secure Handicapped People in the Exercise of their Rights with a View to Achieving Social, School and Workplace Integration
    • The Act to Secure Handicapped persons in the Exercise of their Rights with a View to Achieving Social, School and Workplace Integration is designed to ensure the rights of handicapped persons and, by a commitment from the departments and their networks, municipal administrations, and public and private organizations, to encourage their integration into society on an equal basis with other citizens. To achieve this, the Act provides various measures for handicapped persons and their families, their living environments, and the development of resource and service organizations. The Act provides for the Office des personnes handicapées du Québec to play efficiently its role in assessing the integration of handicapped persons, ensuring the respect of principles and rules described in the Act, and to play a significant role as an advisor, coordinator, and collaborator to improve opportunities for handicapped people.

Top of page

Last modified date :
April 19, 2017

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Encadrement légal

Au Québec, les gestes d’intimidation sont encadrés légalement, notamment par la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne (articles 1, 4 et 10), la Loi sur l’instruction publique (article 13, paragraphes 1.1, 75.1, 75.2, 75.3 et 76) et le Code criminel (article 83).

La lutte contre l’intimidation dans tous les milieux s’appuie notamment sur le respect des règles et des codes de vie qu’une société se donne afin de bien « vivre ensemble ». Cette notion repose sur des valeurs démocratiques qui sont également des droits protégés par la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne du Québec, laquelle prévoit que :

  • tout être humain a droit à la vie, ainsi qu’à la sécurité et à la liberté de sa personne (article 1);
  • toute personne a droit à la sauvegarde de sa dignité, de son honneur et de sa réputation (article 4);
  • toute personne a droit à la reconnaissance et à l’exercice, en pleine égalité, des droits et libertés de la personne, sans distinction, exclusion ou préférence fondée sur la race, la couleur, le sexe, la grossesse, l’orientation sexuelle, l’état civil, l’âge, sauf dans la mesure prévue par la loi, la religion, les convictions politiques, la langue, l’origine ethnique ou nationale, la condition sociale, le handicap ou l’utilisation d’un moyen pour pallier ce handicap (article 10).

D’autres lois régissent, dans leur domaine d'application, différents comportements qui peuvent constituer de l'intimidation, reconnaissent les droits des personnes à la dignité et à l’intégrité et offrent la possibilité de sanctionner, le cas échéant, ceux qui portent atteinte à ces droits.

  • Code civil
    Le Code civil présente des dispositions susceptibles de s'appliquer à l'intimidation ou à la cyberintimidation.
  • Code criminel canadien
    Le Code criminel prohibe une série de comportements de nature criminelle, auxquels sont assorties des sanctions.

    Certaines formes d’intimidation peuvent s’exprimer par divers comportements, notamment le fait de frapper une personne, de la pousser ou de cracher sur elle, mais aussi par des menaces de lui causer la mort ou de lui infliger des lésions corporelles. Selon les articles. 264.1 et 265, ces comportements sont tous considérés comme des crimes. De plus, dans des circonstances où les menaces sont répétitives, il se peut qu’on soit en présence de harcèlement criminel au sens de l’article 264.
  • Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents
    Un des objectifs principaux de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents est la protection du public. Toutefois, le système de justice pour les jeunes se distingue de celui qui s’applique aux adultes à bien des égards : il confère aux adolescents une responsabilité juste et proportionnelle qui est compatible avec leur degré de maturité; il favorise leur réadaptation et leur réinsertion sociale, et insiste sur l’importance d’intervenir rapidement.
  • Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse
    La Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse s’applique aux enfants qui vivent des situations compromettant ou pouvant compromettre leur sécurité ou leur développement et dont les parents n’agissent pas pour corriger la situation. Il s’agit d’enfants que l’on considère comme étant en grande difficulté et ayant besoin de protection.
  • Loi sur l’indemnisation des victimes d’actes criminels
    La Loi sur l’indemnisation des victimes d’actes criminels permet aux personnes victimes d’une infraction criminelle contre la personne d’obtenir une compensation financière pour les préjudices physiques et psychologiques subis ainsi que pour les frais médicaux et paramédicaux engagés pour leur réadaptation.
  • Loi sur l'instruction publique
    La Loi sur l'instruction publique encadre les devoirs et les obligations des établissements d'enseignement publics, notamment l'obligation d'adopter et de mettre en œuvre un plan de lutte contre l'intimidation et la violence.
  • Loi sur l’enseignement privé
    La Loi sur l’enseignement privé encadre les devoirs et les obligations des établissements d'enseignement privés, notamment l'obligation d'adopter et de mettre en œuvre un plan de lutte contre l'intimidation et la violence.
  • Loi sur les normes du travail 
    La Loi sur les normes du travail affirme le droit de tout salarié à un milieu de travail exempt de harcèlement psychologique ; elle impose à l'employeur le devoir de prendre les moyens raisonnables pour prévenir le harcèlement psychologique et, lorsqu'une telle conduite est portée à sa connaissance, pour la faire cesser.
  • Loi sur le ministère de la Sécurité publique (MSP)
    En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de la Sécurité publique, le MSP a les mandats relatifs à la prévention du crime, à la sécurité et à la protection de la population. Il est donc chargé d’assurer le maintien de la sécurité publique et de prévenir la criminalité; il doit également veiller à la réinsertion sociale des personnes détenues.
  • Loi assurant l’exercice des droits des personnes handicapées en vue de leur intégration scolaire, professionnelle et sociale
    La Loi assurant l’exercice des droits des personnes handicapées en vue de leur intégration scolaire, professionnelle et sociale vise à assurer l'exercice des droits des personnes handicapées et, par un engagement des ministères et de leurs réseaux, des municipalités et des organismes publics et privés, à favoriser leur intégration à la société au même titre que tous les citoyens. Pour ce faire, cette loi prévoit diverses mesures visant les personnes handicapées et leur famille, leur milieu de vie ainsi que le développement et l'organisation de ressources et de services à leur égard. À cette fin, elle vise notamment à permettre à l'Office des personnes handicapées du Québec de s'acquitter efficacement de son rôle en matière d'évaluation de l'intégration des personnes handicapées, de veiller au respect des principes et des règles que la loi édicte et de jouer un rôle déterminant en matière de conseil, de coordination et de concertation en vue d'améliorer les possibilités offertes aux personnes handicapées.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
1er décembre 2015