Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

International Conventions

The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination was adopted in 1965 by the United Nations General Assembly and ratified by Canada on October 14, 1970. Québec is bound by this Convention by Order in Council 1471-76 of May 10, 1976. This Convention condemns any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life.

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women was adopted in 1979 by the United Nations General Assembly and ratified by Canada on December 10, 1981. Québec is bound by this Convention by Order in Council 2894-81 of October 20, 1981. This Convention attests to international recognition of the fact that violence against women constitutes a major violation of human rights, a form of discrimination against women and a major public health problem. Violence against women is understood as encompassing, non-exhaustively, bullying at work, in educational institutions and elsewhere.

The Convention on the Rights of the Child was adopted in 1989 by the United Nations General Assembly and ratified by Canada on November 13, 1991. Québec is bound by this Convention by Order in Council 1676-91 of December 9, 1991. This Convention provides, in particular, that States Parties shall take all appropriate legislative, administrative, social and educational measures to protect the child from all forms of physical or mental violence, injury or abuse, neglect or negligent treatment, maltreatment or exploitation, including sexual abuse, while in the care of parent(s), legal guardian(s) or any other person who has the care of the child. The Committee on the Rights of the Child adopted General Comment No. 13 (2011) (The right of the child to freedom from all forms of violence), which specifically concerns bullying. In addition, the United Nations General Assembly, on December 18, 2014, adopted Resolution A/69/158 on protecting children from bullying.

The Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in 2006 and ratified by Canada on March 11, 2010. Québec is bound by this Convention by Order in Council 179-2010 of March 10, 2010. This Convention recognizes in its preamble that "women and girls with disabilities are often at greater risk, both within and outside the home, of violence, injury or abuse, neglect or negligent treatment, maltreatment or exploitation". Article 16 of the Convention sets out the right of persons with disabilities to freedom from exploitation, violence and abuse, which include bullying, and the obligation for the States Parties to the Convention to ensure their protection.

Top of page

Last modified date :
April 19, 2017

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Les conventions internationales

  • La Convention internationale sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination raciale a été adoptée en 1965 par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et ratifiée par le Canada le 14 octobre 1970. Le Québec s’y est lié par l’arrêté en conseil 1471-76 du 10 mai 1976. Cette convention condamne toute distinction, exclusion, restriction ou préférence fondée sur la race, la couleur, l'ascendance ou l'origine nationale ou ethnique, qui a pour but ou pour effet de détruire ou de compromettre la reconnaissance, la jouissance ou l'exercice, dans des conditions d'égalité, des droits de l'homme et des libertés fondamentales dans les domaines politique, économique, social et culturel ou dans tout autre domaine de la vie publique.
  • La Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes a été adoptée en 1979 par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et ratifiée par le Canada 10 décembre 1981. Le Québec s’y est lié par le décret 2894-81 du 20 octobre 1981. Cette convention atteste d’une reconnaissance internationale du fait que la violence à l’égard des femmes constitue une violation majeure des droits des humains, une forme de discrimination à l’égard des femmes et un grand problème de santé publique. La violence à l’égard des femmes s’entend comme englobant, sans y être limitée, l'intimidation au travail, dans les établissements d’enseignement et ailleurs.
  • La Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant a été adoptée en 1989 par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et ratifiée par le Canada le 13 novembre 1991. Le Québec s’y est lié par le décret 1676-91 du 9 décembre 1991. Cette convention prévoit notamment que les États parties prennent toutes les mesures législatives, administratives, sociales et éducatives appropriées pour protéger l’enfant contre toute forme de violence, d’atteinte ou de brutalités physiques ou mentales, d’abandon ou de négligence, de mauvais traitements ou d’exploitation, y compris la violence sexuelle, pendant qu’il est sous la garde de ses parents ou de l’un d’eux, de son ou ses représentants légaux ou de toute autre personne à qui il est confié. Le Comité des droits de l’enfant a adopté l’Observation générale no 13 (2011) (Le droit de l’enfant d’être protégé contre toutes les formes de violence) qui vise spécifiquement l’intimidation. En outre, l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté le 18 décembre 2014 la Résolution A/69/158 relative à la protection des enfants contre les brimades.
  • La Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées a été adoptée par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en 2006 et ratifiée par le Canada le 11 mars 2010. Le Québec s’y est lié par le décret 179-2010 du 10 mars 2010. Cette convention reconnaît dans son préambule que « les femmes et les filles handicapées courent souvent, dans leur famille comme à l’extérieur, des risques plus élevés de violence, d’atteinte à l’intégrité physique, d’abus, de délaissement ou de défaut de soins, de maltraitance ou d’exploitation ». L’article 16 de la Convention énonce le droit pour les personnes handicapées de ne pas être soumises à l’exploitation, à la violence et à la maltraitance, ce qui inclut l’intimidation, et l’obligation pour les États Parties à la Convention d’assurer leur protection.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
1er septembre 2016