Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

What happens when they play?

  • Children like to play simply because their play is free... free of stress and free of of limitations. Children gain confidence while having fun.
  • Play is a driver of children's development. The scientific documentation available is conclusive: play calls on all areas of development and promotes physical, motor, affective, language and cognitive development in early childhood.
  • When children initiate the play, it respects the pace of their development. Because this pace varies from one child to another, children who play avoid failure. Play increases children's sense of competence. Play is adapted to their developmental needs and interests.
  • Play is children's primary learning tool. When at play, young children discover the world around them and face the elements in their environment. Play is one of the only areas that can be controlled by children without having to depend on the adults in their lives. When playing, children discover, build their creativity, create scenarios and express themselves. They learn to build harmonious relationships, to reason, to be confident, to solve problems, to grow independent, and so on.
  • Learning in early childhood is endless, and there are no contradictions between playing and learning.
  • Play is serious stuff! In gaining independence in their games and making them more complex, young children are preparing to become big kids.
  • Play is therefore an essential part of preparing for school and life.

Top of page

Last modified date :
December 16, 2016

Vous êtes ici Liste d'outils

Que se passe-t-il lorsqu’ils jouent?

  • Les enfants aiment jouer tout simplement parce que les jeux qu’ils amorcent sont libres… libres de stress et de contraintes. Les enfants y gagnent en confiance tout en ayant du plaisir.
  • Le jeu est le moteur du développement des enfants. La documentation scientifique ne laisse place à aucun doute; jouer sollicite tous les domaines de développement et favorise la croissance physique et motrice, sociale, affective, langagière et cognitive pendant la petite enfance.
  • Le jeu mis en place par l’enfant respecte son rythme de développement. Ce rythme étant différent d’un enfant à l’autre, l’enfant qui joue évite de se retrouver en situation d’échec. Le jeu le fait sentir compétent. Le jeu s’adapte à ses besoins développementaux et à ses intérêts.
  • Le jeu est le principal outil par lequel l’enfant apprend. En jouant, le jeune enfant découvre le monde qui l’entoure et maîtrise des éléments de son environnement. Le jeu est d’ailleurs un des seuls domaines pouvant être contrôlés par l’enfant sans dépendre des adultes qui l’entoure. En jouant, l’enfant fait des découvertes, développe sa créativité, invente des scénarios et s’exprime, il apprend à tisser des relations harmonieuses, à raisonner, à avoir confiance, à résoudre des problèmes, à devenir autonome, etc.
  • Les apprentissages pour les jeunes enfants sont infinis et il n’y a pas de contradiction entre jouer et apprendre.
  • Le jeu, c’est du sérieux! C’est en gagnant de l’autonomie dans leurs jeux et en les complexifiant que les petits enfants se préparent à devenir grands.
  • Le jeu s’avère donc essentiel à la préparation à l’école et à la vie.

Haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour :
20 novembre 2013